Karl-Heinz Paqué succeeds Wolfgang Gerhardt

Changes in the Board of the Foundation for Freedom
New Board of FNF

The Board of Trustees of the Friedrich Naumann Foundation for Freedom elected a new board at its meeting in the beginning of March 2018, whose four-year term begins on the 26th September.

The new chairman will be Karl-Heinz Paqué, Dean of the Faculty of Economics in Magdeburg and former Minister of Finance of Saxony-Anhalt. He takes over the office from Wolfgang Gerhardt, who has a long political history in Germany and internationally as the chairman of the Free Democratic Party (PDF) between 1995 and 2001, and also the chairman of FDP parliamentary group from 1998 to 2006.

Sabine Leutheusser-Schnarrenberger, retired Federal Minister of Justice, has been elected as Vice-Chairman. The economist Bettina Stark-Watzinger and member of the German Parliament, as well as Michael Georg Link, who is also a Member of Bundestag, were newly elected to the board. The former Lord Mayor of Bremerhaven, Manfred Richter, was confirmed in his office as treasurer. The business consultant Wolf-Dieter Zumpfort had decided like Gerhardt not to compete for another term.

Ludwig Theodor Heuss, deputy of Jürgen Morlok, chairman of the Board of Trustees, represented the latter to congratulate the new CEO: “I congratulate Karl-Heinz Paqué on his election as the Chairman of the Friedrich Naumann Foundation for Freedom. The Foundation for Freedom won a political expert who is extraordinarily committed to the ideas of Freedom, and who has already demonstrated all these qualities as Deputy Chairman of the Executive Board. In view of the successes of populist tendencies in Germany, Europe and worldwide, it is up to him and his colleagues to ensure that more people are once again attracted and inspired by the ideas of our time for constructive solutions of freedom."

It had been Wolfgang Gerhardt, said Heuss, who at the beginning of his term of office who added the most important guiding principle in the statutes and name of the Friedrich Naumann Foundation: ‘for Freedom’. "This addition as a maxim was and is at the same time a generational task. I would like to express my thanks to Wolfgang Gerhardt on behalf of the Foundation.”

In addition, the Board of Trustees confirmed in its session the two deputies of the Board of Trustees, Ludwig Theodor Heuss and Liane Knüppel, in their offices. The new members of the Board of Trustees were former Luxembourg Minister for Education, Vocational Training and Sport, Anne Brasseur, and former Hessian Minister of Economics Florian Rentsch.